Athletes Are (and always will be) Role Models

I’m in the midst of a week long camping trip on Catalina Island with my 11 year old son. He’s a 1st year Boy Scout and is being challenged like never before. Sleeping outside, riding mountain bikes on 7 mile challenges, rowing canoes for 5 miles, eating camp food. Far from the comforts of Pacific Palisades, CA.

The first night was brutal. He was assigned to a tent with a friend, but the tent was more of a shelter than an actual tent. No walls, just a roof. The camp is notoriously infested with red foxes who rummage through the tents at night looking for random Kit Kat and Snicker bars. Dads and other adults sleep in a different camp. The boys are on their own.

My son was really anxious as bedtime approached. My words of comfort did little good. After several attempts to calm him, I tried something different. I brought up our favorite team, the Pittsburgh Steelers. I asked him how Big Ben and Troy Polomalu might feel on the first day of training camp. He said he thought they might be stressed, knowing the coming week would be really tough. I asked him about all of the time Ben and Troy had put in all of their lives leading up to that moment. About all of the pain, tears, injuries, sacrifices. He started to think about all of the challenges that his heroes had faced in their journeys. He began to feel better and made it through that rough first night.

So as much as I would love to be his role model, that will have to wait until he is older. For now, his role models are Big Ben and Troy P. He worships them. They inspire him. Whether they know it or not, they do the same for thousands of kids all over the country. They are his role models, and I’m grateful that he has them to inspire him.

We are now more than half way through the week on the island. Things are going great. He is having the time of his life, and doing things I never thought I would see him do. Thanks Ben and Troy. I owe you one.

About Bill Sanders

SVP of Personal Brand Management at PMK*BNC. Helping icons from all walks of life to connect with their fans and monetize their brands.
This entry was posted in Athlete marketability, Athlete Marketing, Sports Marketing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Athletes Are (and always will be) Role Models

  1. Harold says:

    If you wish for to obtain a great deal from this
    piece of writing then you have to apply these methods to your
    won blog.

  2. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this issue?

  3. Anonymous says:

    I like to share information that will I have accumulated with the yr to help
    improve team performance.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Excellent happy analytical eye to get detail and may anticipate issues just before
    they will take place.

  5. Ahaa, its fastidious conversation concerning this article at this place at this
    website, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting
    at this place.

  6. voyance says:

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going to
    a famous blogger if you aren’t already ;) Cheers!

  7. Quality articles is the imporetant to interst the people to visit the website, that’s
    what this website is providing.

  8. Somebody essentially help to make critically posts I might state.
    That is the very first time I frequented your web page and to this point?
    I amazed with the research you made to create this particular submit amazing.
    Magnificent activity!

  9. I am truly thankful to the holder of this site who
    has shared this great post at at this time.

  10. I do not even know the way I ended up right here, however I
    assumed this put up was great. I do not
    realize who you are but certainly you are going to a well-known blogger
    if you are not already. Cheers!

  11. I will immediately take hold of your rss as I can not find your e-mail
    subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you have
    any? Please let me understand in order that I may subscribe.
    Thanks.

  12. This is my first time visit at here and i am genuinely pleassant to read everthing
    at single place.

  13. Usually I don’t read article on blogs, but I wish to say that
    this write-up very pressured me to check out and do it!
    Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, quite
    nice post.

  14. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate
    to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS
    feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and
    will talk about this website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  15. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written much better!

    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept preaching about this. I will forward this
    article to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a good read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

